Church of St. Paraskevia constructed 1910, ‘A miles south-west of Birmingham; R.M.215.
BIRMINGHAM — The church of St. Paraskevia is the first church of the parish.
This church has a unique history. It originally belonged to the Presbyterian community and on December 20, 1912, it officially became the property of the Ukrainian Catholic community (Prop. Knyha). The first Divine Liturgy in this church was celebrated on January 12, 1913 by Rev. A. Delaere, CSSR. Bishop Andrew Roborecki visited the parish and served Pontifical Moleben and Divine Liturgy on August 27, 1960 and July 1, 1969.
The church was constructed in 1910 on a one acre site one-quarter mile south-west of Birmingham. Its interior was renovated and repainted between 1928 and 1930 under the direction of Rev. Stephen Bachtalowsky, CSSR. The wood constructed rectangular structure, 20 x 30 feet, has a gable roof centrally apexed by a double cupola with a one-armed cross. Three-armed crosses apex the north and south summits of the roof. The main entrance is through a low, separately roofed porch-vestibule. In the interior the church contains a south elevated main altar, which is separated from the nave by an iconostas, and a north choir loft which partially extends over the nave. The church site also includes the parish cemetery.
The first Ukrainian settlers in this area arrived in 1904 predominantly from the village of Ulychno in Halychyna. In 1941 the parish registered 15 families (Prop. Knyha), in 1961, 46 souls (Directory) and in 1975, 6 families remained. Both the parish and the neighbouring village of Birmingham are slowly disappearing due to population redistribution. In 1976 the parish was under directorship of the following: Rev. Simeon Ivanochko, CSSR, pastor, Alex Komarychka, Nettie Sedlovitch, Nick Sedlovitch and Mike Komarychka.
The Ukrainian Catholic parish of St. Paraskevia, Birmingham, is under the pastoral charge of Ituna.